Annual Meeting of the Yinghua Academy School Board

1616 Buchanan Street NE, Minneapolis, MN, Cafeteria Monday, May 4, 2015 FINAL

Board Members in Attendance: Denny Grubish (Treasurer), Emily Hanson, Scott Jax, Jan Kleinman (Secretary), Karen Lu (Chair), Suzanne Reider, Jen Shadowens, Seth Werner, Sarah Whiting

Board Members not in Attendance: Walt Graff, Rosemary Lawrence

Executive Director in Attendance: Mrs. Sue Berg

YACA Chair in Attendance: Dina Nash

Public in Attendance: 21 audience members

I. WELCOME AND OVERVIEW

Ms. Lu called the Annual Meeting to order at 6:04 p.m.

II. STATE OF THE SCHOOL

Ms. Lu summarized that the past year had various successes, some high profile and some low profile yet meaningful. Among the high profile successes, she listed a *New York Times* article featuring Yinghua, Yinghua's award as Confucius Classroom of the Year, the school's nomination for the National Blue Ribbon award, the new consolidated campus, and the memorable grade 8 Chinese New Year performance. In the lower profile yet meaningful category, she listed Yinghua's high level of student and teacher retention, middle school student curriculum which includes health and character education, the engagement of Yinghua's older students with its younger students, a smooth budget process, and the imminent achievement of a long-standing goal: 20% fund balance.

She further remarked that Yinghua achieved all these accomplishments while receiving \$4,385 less per student each year than other Minneapolis public schools.

Finally, Ms. Lu noted that Yinghua's current strategic plan outlined the school's course until 2015. This coming summer the Board will begin crafting a new strategic plan.

III. INTRODUCTION OF CANDIDATES/STATEMENTS

Ms. Shadowens, chair of the Governance Committee, explained the voting process for Board members, currently underway. She then introduced the eight school board candidates: one community member, one teacher and six parents (including one incumbent). Mr. Ziolkowski, Ms. Gill, Mr. Cintorino, Ms. Griffiths, Mr. Luedtke, Ms. Matre, Ms. Schneider, and Mr. Werner each introduced him or herself and presented his/her qualifications.

IV. ADJOURN

Ms. Lu declared the annual meeting adjourned at 6:47 pm.

Minutes drafted by Jan Kleinman, Secretary. Approved by vote of Board on May 18, 2015.